Invite for CWL Virtual MiniConference, February 8-10th 2021

We are happy to announce our 2021 Common Workflow Language Virtual MiniConference.

Please consider joining us if you are a:

  • User of CWL, at any scale or complexity

  • Workflow engine developer

  • Sysadmin, operation, and/or devops person who is running CWL workflows in production

  • Participant in the CWL ecosystem

…. Or if you just want to learn more about CWL

Over the three day period there will be three 4-hour long sessions of talks, discussions and co-working time. The session times were chosen to make them accessible to our global community. We understand that you might not be able to make all of the time for all three days, please join us when you can (That is the great benefit of virtual conferences!)

Session 1 (Americas-EMEA friendly time): Monday, January 11th 09:00 - 13:00 US EST / Monday, January 11th 14:00 - 18:00 UTC / Monday, January 11th 23:00 - Tuesday, January 12th 03:00 Tokyo

Session 2 (EMEA-APAC friendly time): Tuesday, January 12th 02:00 - 06:00 US EST / Tuesday, January 12th 07:00 - 11:00 UTC / Tuesday, January 12th 16:00 - 20:00 Tokyo

Session 3 (APAC-Americas friendly time): Tuesday, January 12th 19:00 - 23:00 US EST / Wednesday January 13th 00:00 - 04:00 UTC / Wednesday, January 13th 09:00 - 13:00 Tokyo

:earth_americas::earth_africa: Session 1 (Americas-EMEA friendly time)

:earth_africa::earth_asia: Session 2 (EMEA-APAC friendly time)

:earth_asia::earth_americas: Session 3 (APAC-Americas friendly time)

The sign up form is at https://forms.gle/WX6SXPVDNPAgxNMC8

We want to have presentations from you, the CWL community. Presentations can be 5,10, or 15 minutes and will be pre-recorded and publicly available before the conference. The session time with time focused on discussion and interaction. Please let us know (via the sign up form) if you are interested in giving a talk and we will follow up with details.

We want to customize the sessions based on your ideas. Please let us know what topics and formats would be most useful or of the most interest to you via the sign up form linked above.

Presentation signups are closed, but we welcome additional participants for the question and answer sessions after the talks, and the discussion break outs.

We will follow up with details regarding schedule and all the information regarding the virtual conferencing and chat system we will use for the conference itself.

This event, like all CWL events, will be subject to the CWL Code Of Conduct . Please let us know if you need any accessibility accommodations for this conference such as live captioning or video subtitling.

Cheers,
Sarah, Peter and Michael

1 Like

Further updates

Any updates will be posted to https://github.com/common-workflow-language/common-workflow-language/wiki/2021-CWL-Mini-Conference and emailed to those who registered.

CWL conference delayed to February 8-10th, 2021

Hello!

We are moving the CWL mini-conference to be four weeks later as our original schedule was too ambitious. This will also give you additional time to prepare your presentation. For those who indicated that they would be happy to give multiple presentations or were okay with multiple lengths of presentations we will be contacting you shortly to confirm the details.

I’ve updated the schedule above

We would also welcome assistance with the event itself. Check out https://github.com/common-workflow-language/common-workflow-language/issues/919 to see our to-do list and to offer suggestions and assistance.

Best wishes for the new year!