Cannot get `cwltool` to run with `--podman` when step has `DockerRequirement`

Hi all :wave:, and thanks for providing this forum.

I am new to workflows and pretty new to containers, so please excuse any newbie blunders.

I am learning CWL via this Carpentries Incubator lesson.

As I want to run my workflow on an HPC system later, I’m replacing the use of cwltool in the tutorial with the use of toil-cwl-runner which, however, uses cwltool under the hood.

Also, because it is a requirement on our systems, we use podman instead of docker and I was delighted to see that cwltool offers a flag --podman.

However, I cannot get the first single step workflow example from the tutorial to run with either cwltool or toil and --podman.

I’m posting an example error below which throws a cwltool.errors.WorkflowException related to the missing Docker. I think the issue may be related to the one workflow step having a DockerRequirement though.

This may also just be because I don’t understand enough of podman and docker and got something wrong in the setup there.

Anyhow, the workflow calls just one step with these hints:

#!/usr/bin/env cwl-runner
cwlVersion: v1.0
class: CommandLineTool

hints:
  DockerRequirement:
    dockerPull: quay.io/biocontainers/fastqc:0.11.9--hdfd78af_1
  SoftwareRequirement:
    packages:
      fastqc:
        specs: [ "http://identifiers.org/biotools/fastqc" ]
        version: [ "0.11.9--hdfd78af_1", "0.11.9" ]

I have pulled the container requirements mentioned in the tutorial setup as well as the one from the DockerRequirement manually in podman:

$> podman images -a
REPOSITORY                      TAG                  IMAGE ID      CREATED        SIZE
quay.io/biocontainers/cutadapt  3.7--py39hbf8eff0_1  1a64f7e399a3  8 months ago   174 MB
quay.io/biocontainers/samtools  1.14--hb421002_0     33de2337c097  13 months ago  74.8 MB
quay.io/biocontainers/fastqc    0.11.9--hdfd78af_1   cc8b303fee58  20 months ago  602 MB