Using CWL for python based workflows

Hey everyone,

I am new to the CWL world and while attempting to replicate my manual workflow in CWL I stumbled upon a problem. I’m from a materials science background and what I often need to do is process .cif files (containing crystallographic information for a certain element and structure) using the same python script over a range of different numbers of atoms. On the shell, this would look something like

python3 some_script.py -e some_element -s some_crystal_structure -n some_number_of_atoms

some_script.py will parse some_element and some_crystal_structure, load the appropriate .cif file and process. The only to options to replicate this in CWL I found so far are

1. I either copy my python script to the work directory via
requirements:
- class: InlineJavascriptRequirement
- class: InitialWorkDirRequirement
  listing:
    - entryname: some_script.py
      entry: |
        # source code for the script

which is inconvenient because then I can never access the script as a regular python file or
2. I explictly state the name of my python script in the input file

which I personally find kind of redundant, since this workflow is specific to my specific python script.
Is there a third option I am missing here?
This applies to the *.cif files as well. Ideally I would have a an input file to look like this:

element: Be
structure: hcp
natoms: 256

and the workflow would stage the appropriate .cif file itself. But I have found no way to stage a file to the work directory using values derived from the input values…

Any help would be appreciated!

Kind regards
Lenz

Hey Lenz,

I think you’re on the right track with your evaluation of solution 1). I believe this feature is meant more for Python “snippets” that can be succinctly expressed to perform simple tasks. If some_script.py is more than, say, 10 lines then this is probably not the move.