How to remove a file in the input directory?

I’m fairly new to CWL. I’ve been able to get my head around some of the ways that CWL works and have read the examples, etc. I’m trying to build a pipeline in which all steps are executed within Docker containers. I have several steps working. However, I am stumped on something super simple. Maybe this seems silly, but I’m trying to remove a file. Below is my workflow file.

#!/usr/bin/env cwl-runner

cwlVersion: v1.0
class: CommandLineTool
baseCommand: rm
requirements:
  - class: DockerRequirement
    dockerPull: phusion/baseimage:master-amd64
  - class: InitialWorkDirRequirement
    listing:
      - entry: $(inputs.the_file)
        writable: true
inputs:
  the_file:
    type: File
    inputBinding:
      prefix: -f
      position: 1
outputs:
  output: stdout
stdout: output.txt

Below is my job file:

the_file:
    class: File
    path: Genome/Zea_mays.B73_RefGen_v4.dna.toplevel.fa

It says it was successful, but the file is still there. What am I missing? Is there a simpler/better way?

Thanks!

Hello @srp33, and welcome!

Can you share with us why you want to delete a file?

If some step is producing a file you don’t need, then by not including it in the final Workflow outputs then most CWL implementations will delete that intermediate file.

Since CWL is concerned with reproducible analysis, what happens in each step is supposed to only produce new data/files, not change or delete existing data or files. So when you run your example a copy of the input file the_file is made (because it is marked writable: true), and it is that copy that gets deleted.

I am gunzipping a file a certain way that keeps the original file. Then I want to remove the original file. After you said this, I realized that I could tweak the way I am gunzipping it so that I don’t need to remove it. But this feels restrictive to me. I wish I could just remove a file rather than having to rework my logic.